Scale

For the first time in years I went to the dentist yesterday. Amazingly, my teeth were fine. Of course there was about a foot of scale attached to them, but that was easily removed. I didn’t know what scale actually was, or why I needed a dentist to have it removed. Why isn’t brushing your teeth twice a day enough? So I asked. This is the answer I got:

Scale is plaque which has calcified due to a reaction with saliva. It turns hard and because its a rough surface it can easily build. Apparently the calcification makes it too hard to remove with a tooth brush.

Another thing I learned was the English translation for the Dutch word tandsteen.

Geef een reactie

