Kahn Academy art history

After the email debacle I decided to indulge myself and just learn something ‘easy’. I went to Kahnacademy.org >humanities >art history and my eyes fell on what they call the proto renaissance. And there I found this video about the Pisan artist Duccio and his alter piece the Maesta.

Duccio’s Maesta (front): Duccio, Maesta (front), 1308-11 (Museo dell’Opera Metropolitana del Duomo, Siena)

Speakers: Dr. Beth Harris and Dr. Steven Zucker

If you know me a little you’ll know that I enjoy this kind of thing. I did not know Duccio and the theory about the painting is interesting. But what I enjoyed most was the historical context. I knew for example that Florence and Pisa were often at war, and I knew about Giotto, but I did not realize that Padua was in the Florence city state and so the Duccio/Giotto, Florence/Pisa rivalry was new to me.

Geef een reactie

