shifting gears

I don’t know if you know this, but I’ve been taking driving lessons for a while, and it’s going quite well if I say so myself. But describing my driving is not something I feel like doing here. It’s something I’m learning and have been learning, but if you don’t know how to drive, you will not learn it by reading this and if you do know how to drive then reading about me trying to get to grips with a car is not going to be fun.

But what I do do in the car is just ask about what’s actually going on in the vehicle as I manipulate it. That is how I came to learn about the gears and what happens when you kick down the clutch and move the stick through the slots. Which is: when you hold down the clutch something lets go of the wheel axis and the car is not in drive. Then when you choose a gear, actual gears grip and the wheels are connected to the engine. It sounded great the way my instructor explained it in the car, but once I got home I could not repeat it to myself. So I looked it up.

This article explained everything. http://auto.howstuffworks.com/transmission.htm

Simple really 🙂

Geef een reactie

