DSpace

When was the last time you saw something for the very first time? Even though I know what it is and quite a lot of what it can do, I saw Dspace for the first time yesterday. DSpace is a repository for scientific research which we use in the library. Before yesterday it might as well have been like outer space. Somewhere vast and far away where documents drift in and out of nowhere.

But it was just a simple looking website with a lot of links. From Dspace a colleague of mine has uploaded thousands of items to the world wide catalog WorldCat. That’s why I wanted to see it because I’m going to do some testing to see if we can find our material in WorldCat.

I could and maybe should have seen DSpace before yesterday and what I took away from it was not earth shattering, but it may stand me in good stead in the future. If nothing else it will be easier to talk along with back office folk from now on.

Geef een reactie

