Other peoples back pain

Dad has never had the best of backs and over the years has gone through all sorts of trouble with it. But it was never a hernia. Therefore I used to have an idea of what a hernia was and also that there were two kinds. That was it.

Now Anne has a hernia (When it rains it pours, right?) and so I know a little bit more. What Anne has is what I call a back hernia.

Normally nerves run along your spinal column and stay there. With a hernia something between two spinal discs moves outward and touches the nerve causing pain that runs along your back and down into the leg.

If you have a hernia and your back is under a lot of tension the trapping increases. That is why the doctor has prescribed pain killers and a lot of rest for a long time.

Medicine is an area where I stand to learn the most I think. The human body is so complicated. I get the idea that I should just let it go and not want to learn about it and try to block my curiosity, because I’m never even getting close to knowing enough about it.

Geef een reactie

