Duolingo

I’ve started learning spanish 3 or 4 times before. I would go for four months maximum and then quit. First I used the LOI course which is your classic, tapes and textbook combo. Then I used the BBC’s really fun story based video course. I’ve used a number of apps and other websites and now I’ve started using Duolingo. Apparently It’s very popular. It’s gamified with badges and challenges and it has a tree-of-knowlegde like Kahnacademy has.

The thing about Duolingo is that it’s easy to do for short bursts of time, but with the challenges, it makes you want to keep going. I know I have trouble keeping going with these kinds of things, so I’ll wait and see if this is actually true or not. All I can say is that a week in, I find myself opening the app to see if I can finish a lesson when I have some down time.

Using the app can be a little embarrassing, because you have to speak into the microphone to test pronunciation. So if you see me saying things like “Hoy, como carne con el juez.” to myself then you know what I’m doing.

Related posts
https://pieterreeve.wordpress.com/2013/08/19/ensaimadas-and-a-tiny-language-lesson/
https://pieterreeve.wordpress.com/2013/06/27/kahn-academy-art-history/

Geef een reactie

