Design 101

Today, marks the beginning of Design 101. The Massive Open Online Course I’m taking. 101 days of learning about design. I absolutely love it already and I can’t wait to find out what I will learn along the way. Already I’m being bombarded with references to interesting people and things. It feels like they are coming at me from every angle. And there is an active forum with many of the 27000 participants who are all as excited as I am about taking part in this course.
Our first assignment was to complete a multiple choice quiz which was done in 5 minutes. All the questions were numbered one. And none had a right or wrong answer. For example:

Do you believe in quizzes?
A. Yes very much so
B. No not at all
C. I’m taking this quiz, so I must do a little
D. This question annoys me.

After that we got the time to go through the course materials and get acquainted with the course environment online and to find out who else was taking the course. There are people from all over the world. From Hawaii to Iran.
From the information I have been given already I have found interesting books to read, (Design as Art, by Bruno Munari), songs to listen to (Absolute Beginners by David Bowie) and objects to think about. (the perpetual calender by Enzo Mari) I don’t know why but I feel like this course has opened up a whole new path to follow. That may be a dangerous thing to say and it may not be true, It’s only one course after all, but It was a long time since I was this excited about learning something new.

This is when I found out about this course. With other reasons why it may be benificial.

Geef een reactie

