Pinhole camera

This weekend I built my own damn camera. I highly doubt it’s going to produce any decent photographs, but who cares? The point is that it will take pictures and I understand how it works, because I made it from scratch. Also before this weekend I didn’t own a camera which I had made myself and after this weekend I do. It’s very empowering to be able to do that.

I started by looking up tutorials and found one which I was confidant of completing.

I then gathered my materials most of which I already had.
2014-01-25 13.13.21

Then I followed the instructions and a short time later It was all done
2014-01-25 14.52.27

Now I need to shoot the pictures varying the shutter time and brightness of the surroundings and get the film developed. I had forgotten what it feels like not knowing what your pictures look like.

Like almost all the projects from design101 it’s about the process, not the end product. So I know it doesn’t look like much, but make one your self, and see how cool it is to do this. I still have some of the materials which you can use if you decide to give it a go.

Geef een reactie

